California | Bankruptcy
6/30/09, 12:36 pm
Legal Question
My husband passed away
We were going to file and now he is gone. Do I have to include all his bills in my bankruptcy?
My husband passed away
We were going to file and now he is gone. Do I have to include all his bills in my bankruptcy?
|
Read More Answered By: Carl Starrett |
Re: My husband passed away I would list them. I've seen clients before who mistakenly believed that a debt was in the name of only one spouse. In the description of the debt, you can include a brief description of the debt, the belief that it belongs to your husband and list the debt as disputed. You should list ALL potential debts even if you do not believe that you owe them.
Please accepted my condolences for your loss. |
|
Read More Answered By: L.A. BK Atty Leon Bayer |
Re: My husband passed away I am so sorry.
You should list his debts, for your own protection. If you wish, you can list them as debts incurred by your deceased spouse.
I hope you recover from all these hardships real soon. |
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
Re: My husband passed away First, I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your husband. It sounds as if you were not expecting this, and irrespective of that, its never easy to lose a loved one. Please know that my condolences are with you.
As to his debt, you can include his bills, however, unfortunately his obligations become obligations of his "estate," and as such, unless his estate were to file bankruptcy (and I am not recommending that), your bankruptcy discharge only discharges any potential obligation you may have had to pay his bills. As for his debt, when he passed, an "estate" is created which consists of everything he owns and everything he owes. The debts generally get paid first, then with the remaining property, it gets distributed to the heirs per his will, trust or if he had neither, then according to a statutory plan.
Depending upon what your husband has that needs to be administered, you may have to open a probate in the probate court. If you do that, a notice goes out to his creditors, and they have a certain time frame in which to submit claims. If they do not submit a claim within that given time frame, then they are forever barred from collecting the claims from his estate.
I'm going to suggest that you talk to a probate attorney in your area before you do anything. You need to know what if any liability you will have for his debts, and what if any assets might be available for his creditors in his estate. Its going to be a bit complex, and certainly hard, but it is possible to resolve.
Again, my sincere condolences and I hope that you are able to find a local attorney who can help you through this difficult time.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. The information provided is general and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. |
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1030
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► Chapter 11 and attorney fees Hi, My attorney failed to file a Chapter 11 and I lost...
► Credit card debt -conditional Settlement Agreement/Stipulation for Judgement We owe...
► Needed to file need help on how to file my debts
► Filing for Bankruptcy We are thinking of filing BK and I don't know which would be...
► Confused Hi - i'm thinking of filling chapter7 for the second time and wondering if...
► Life insurance beneficiary My sister has terminal cancer. She has a life insurance...
► Civil judgement i hada criminal and civil judgement.i did my criminal portion and...
More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press