California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
11/14/09, 10:35 pm

Legal Question


My in-laws currently filed bankruptcy and now the courts are involving us and I wanted to know if they were legally aloud to. Here is the background information. My husband and I bought our current house from his parents. We refinanced their existing mortgage to have only our names and put our names on the title and took my in-laws name off the title to the home. We talked about possibly owing them an additional amount in the future when we were able to afford it, but that was never officially decided on. No verbal or written agreement was made on the said amount or time frame. Since they are now filing bankruptcy, she told her bankruptcy lawyer that we owe her $100k. Now the courts are asking us to provide paperwork on the refinance of the house. Do we have to comply with the request?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search