California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
I'm in process of a loan Mod for my home. My 2nd wasn't covered any longer and they didn't want to negotiate at all. They have since "charged off" the 2nd.
I'm self employed & single. I'm wondering if I can file a chapter 7 and exempt my home and car? Also, are you able to file a bankruptcy on the IRS if its 3 plus years back? There are currently no judgemnts or leins on my property.
Hope this makes sense.
Thanks
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
First, be very vigilant with your loan modification. If you hired someone to do it, you need to watch over their shoulders contstantly as there are far too many "scam" firms out there ripping people off. It is very sad to say that many attorneys have been caught up in this, and even some law firms offering loan modification services have turned out to be bogus. If you are doing it yourself, still be vigilant, but do it on your own behalf. Push like crazy for your modification, as the banks need a lot of pressure to get these done in any reasonable time frame.
Here is the good news. If you qualify for a loan modification on your first, and that loan modification is through the federal HAMP program, then when that becomes final, your second lender, if they also are participants in HAMP MUST give you a loan modification - what is called a 2MP loan modification. You need to first determine if both lenders are participants in HAMP, and that can be done on the makinghomeaffordable.org website.
If not, you cannot "strip" your second mortgage in a Chapter 7 bankruptcy. Some attorneys don't agree with that statement, but if you read the bankruptcy code carefully, it is very clear that a mortgage cannot be stripped on your primary residence in a Chapter 7 ever. In a Chapter 13 bankruptcy, you may be able to strip the mortgage if it is absolutely, unquestionably, wholly unsecured. By that I mean that an appraisal would prove that there is not sufficient value in the home to even cover the balance due on the first mortgage, making the second mortgage "wholly unsecured." This is not for the faint of heart, and in most jurisdictions requires an adversarial proceeding (a mini-lawsuit) within your bankruptcy to remove the lien. While it will require an attorney, and require a decent chunk of attorneys fees, compared to keeping the mortgage, it is going to be very worthwhile. As you are in Northern California, email me off this list and I can get you a referral to someone up there who is very conversant in lien stripping and loan modifications.
Finally, you can generally exempt a certain level of equity in your assets, though if you have equity in your home, then the second mortgage is not unsecured, and cannot be stripped. Again, you need to review the facts with a qualified, experienced bankruptcy attorney. Taxes are more complex than whether they are 3 years old, and again, that is something you should discuss with a qualified, experienced attorney. Do email me off this list and I will get you the name of someone very well qualified in your area. She is in the Bay Area, but well worth the distance to get someone who can really help you with these problems.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. The information provided is general and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1032
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


