California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Property Bankruptsy
Can I just file property bankruptsy to vs. foreclosure? I can pay my creditors but not my home lenders
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
Re: Property Bankruptsy No. Federal law is very clear that you must include in your bankruptcy all debts, all assets, all income and all expenses. You absolutely cannot pick and choose what you include or don't include. To be very clear, it is a federal crime to omit any information from your bankruptcy filing, and the United States Trustee's office (a division of the Department of Justice) is very vigilant in pursuing violators. You need to speak with a bankruptcy attorney before you do anything - you could get yourself into a very large amount of trouble trying to handle this yourself.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. The information provided is general and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. |
|
Read More Answered By: Madhu Kalra |
Re: Property Bankruptsy If you wish to keep the house, you need to check your option re: chapter 13. chapter 13 allows you to pay regular payments commencing 30 days from the date of filing and also allow you to cure defaulted mortgage arrearages.
However, if you do not wish to keep the house, than ofcourse, you can let house be foreclosed and avoid bankruptcy by continue to pay the unsecured creditors.
You should also consider, if you could possible lower your mortgage payments under loan modification plans and discharge unsecured debts, which might allow you to keep the house.
I would definitely recommend that you contact bankruptcy attorney, to evaluate your options re: debt repayment under chapter 13 vs. chapter 7.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


