California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
7/24/00, 8:31 pm

Legal Question


Purchasing a house after bancrupcy.

I filed for chapter 7 bancrupcy October, 1999. At the time of filing, the value of my home was worth below the value that I owed on the home loan. Presently because of the home buying boom here in Northern California my home is worth more than what I owe on the loan. My question: If I sold my house and made a profit, would I have to give that money back to the creditors that I owe money to or can I use that money to put down on another home to purchase. Thankyou for your time. -Mark


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search