California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
8/13/09, 7:52 pm

Legal Question


I have a question, I hope you can help. A few years ago a friend and I incorporated a business. As Secretary/treasurer, it was my "job" to open the bank accounts, credit cards, etc. Since then the business has failed and we are considering bankruptcy.

I was told that since I opened the accounts and applied for the credit cards, that I probably signed a personal guarantee when I did, which makes me personnaly liable and won't be able to include the credit cards in a business bankruptcy and that I will have to separately file personal bankruptcy.

None of these credit cards appear on my personal credit report which I just ran. Does that mean that I did not sign a personal guarantee and I am not personally liable, or not necessarily?

Thank you for your help.

Wilma


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search