California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
8/30/03, 6:59 pm

Legal Question


Renew or Not Renew Lease?

My car company has a forgive your lease special. My lease normally would not be up for 6 months. I explained I was in the process of filing bankruptcy. They suggest I take advantage and get a new lease before I file as it will cost me alot of interest later on with the bankruptcy on my record. I plan to keep the payments and insurance up on my current lease as I need transportation for my business. Would getting a new lease cause me difficulty in filing? Is it legal to do such a thing so close to actually filing (within next 60 days)?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search