California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
I have several simple questions
I'd like to know if my home would be exempt under chapter 7. My name is on the deed along with my brother and his wife. I don't pay for any of the mortage payments because my brother took out a loan against the house to consolidate his credit card bills. So he pays for the mortage payments. Myself, my brother, his wife and adult son all live in this house. I pay for the water, garbage and a third of the property taxes and some groceries. I don't know how much he pays for the mortage or how much equity is in the property. How does this effect the exemption for my home.
What is the maximum I can have in a checking acct.?
Can I take the excess out and put it in a IRA or 401 so it will be exempt.
I own stocks, would they be exempt? If not can I put it in a IRA or 401? It was meant for my retirement any dividends are reinvested.
I have no income. I was on workers comp until June and returned to work so they stopped my payments, but I'm still under doctor's care. I ended up quitting because my job was making my condition worse. I can't receive unemployment, I quit. My doctor has my work status as totally disabled now because my blood test came back showing a high level of rheumatoid arthritis. He's trying to get an approval for a specialist. Workers comp is going to decide next month if I'm permanent and stationary. I assumed I can't apply for state disability until my case is closed with workers comp. If I receive a settlement from workers comp, which I doubt. But in case I do is it considered exempt?


