California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
My sister in law is divorced but her ex-husband is still listed on the mortgage because she could not afford to re-finance the house on her own. He just declared personal bankruptcy. Should she worry about losing her home because of it?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Larry L. Doan |
Somebody has to continue paying the mortgage even if the ex filed for bankruptcy if she wants to continue living in the house. If the mortgage payments are not continued to be paid by him or her, the bank will eventually foreclose.
Larry L. Doan, Esq.
https://www.lawguru.com/cgi/bbs/attyPages/liem.html
Note: The above response is provided for legal information only and should not be construed as legal advice, nor to create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of consideration. We do not offer free advice except for the information provided herein on LawGuru which has been screened. If follow-up advice on your specific situation is desired, we offer a paid consultation in person if you are in the Los Angeles area, or by phone or email. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1454
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1027
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


