California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
7/13/02, 11:14 am

Legal Question


Statue of limitations of trustee trying to collect foreign bank account.

I have been in bankruptcy court since 1995. In 9/1/99 I was convicted of bankruptcy fraud and sentenced to 9 months in federal prison. On 9/15/99 the bankruptcy judge held me in contempt of court because I wouldn't disclose my foreign bank account. I was held in county jail for 2 years. Finally my attorney & I found a Supreme Court Ruling which got me released on 6/15/01. I am still under a Contempt charge and doing my best to get the Belize Bank to release my money to the attorney for the trustee. This is the only thing they are after. The amount is only $170,000 U.S.

My question is: What is the statue of limitations if any for a trustee to try to recover this money. Is there any time limit. Are there any recent Court Decisions that would be in my favor. Your response is most appreciated. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search