California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Trust Document
I own a business and I would like to know if I should put our home and other assets in the name of a trust, in case the business goes bankrupt?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Judith Deming |
Re: Trust Document Even if you do, that provides zero protection, as in a bankruptcy you must list all interests in trusts, etc., anyhow. If you own an interest in a trust, that interest becomes an asset in any bankruptcy. And, in case you may wonder how will the bankruptcy court find that you own an interest, where you reside and the ownership of your residence will be an issue in any bankruptcy. Moreover, any effort to "hide" an asset is a violation of federal law and can subject you to extreme punitive measures. You must also list any transfered assets within the recent past when you file bankruptcy...and transfers to avoid payment of creditors and just debts is, in and of itself, grounds for a lawsuit in or out of bankruptcy. The bottom line is that owning and operating a business comes with risks and responsibilities and unless you are willing to stand up and accept those responsibilities, you should not be in business. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1032
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


