California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
I'm unemployed and I have a car loan. I've struggled to pay the note since losing my job and fell behind a few payments. If I file for a BK would I be able to keep my car?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Norma Duenas |
If you file for Chapter 7 bankruptcy while you are not current on your payments then you will have difficulty keeping your vehicle unless you directly talk to the company and arrange a repayment option that they agree with. Generally if you are not current on your vehicle and you file for Chapter 7 bankruptcy, they will file a motion to lift stay. Once the motion is approved they will have a right to repossess the vehicle. If you want to keep your vehicle and you are behind on your payments then Chapter 13 bankruptcy can allow you to keep your vehicle and repay the vehicle as part of your Chapter 13 plan. Chapter 13 bankruptcy may not be feasible for you since you indicated that you are unemployed and Chapter 13 bankruptcy requires regular consistent income. You should talk to a bankruptcy attorney to assess your options. If you need more information on bankruptcy you can visit our faq's at http://www.socaladvocates.com/faqs |
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1032
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


