California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
10/30/09, 9:41 am

Legal Question


I have been unemployed and cannot pay credit card payments. A judgement has been filed through the courts. What does this mean? I have not filed bankruptcy and want to pay them off when I CAN.


SoCalLawSupport

Southern California's Best Attorney Help Site. Facing Bankruptcy? Personal Injury? Worker Compensation?

We can Help! Don't settle for second best - Get the best Today! We stand buy you! Call today for a FREE consultation, or complete an online case evaluation form on our website. 1-877-430-0001

Southern California's Bankruptcy, Personal Injury, Workers Compensation Attorneys


question bubble
11/04/09, 11:57 am

Legal Answer


At this point if you do not want to file bankruptcy you should contact the creditor and determine if you can arrange a repayment plan. It would benefit you to also consult with a bankruptcy attorney to review your situation and determine if bankruptcy is the right option for you at this time. Once a creditor has filed an action against you (unless they agree on a repayment in which they will dismiss the case), they can proceed an obtain a judgment against you, unless you are willing to respond and try to defend the action in court (which can be costly). Another option is to file bankruptcy which will stop the action from proceeding any further. http://www.socaladvocates.com

Norma Duenas

Southern California Law Advocates
333 City Blvd West
Orange, CA 92868

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search