California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
8/10/09, 11:46 pm

Legal Question


I won 3 judgements in small claims court totalling 11,000.00 against the same person. I immediately put a lien on her home. She has since filled for chapter 13 to stop the foreclosure and sale of her home and her attorney has filed a motion to dismiss my claim even though I am a secured creditor. I never received notification of the motion therefore I could not respond. However, I did receive the notice stating because I did not respond to the motion in time, the judge may rule in her favor and dismiss my claim. The reason her attorney states my claim can be dismissed is because her house is homestead. I have a form she filled out in small claims court to disclose here assets and she entered N/A where it asked if the house was homstead. We are scheduled to go back to court in a few days. Can I present this copy to the judge and state she lied to the court and reinstate my claim?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search