Re: 3 Directors/Shareholders. 2 are boy/girl friend, living together, essentiall
First, California does not recognize common-law marriages.
Second, every share is entitled to the same voting power as every other share of the same class of stock, regardless of who holds it, when the votes are counted. So, if you own 100 shares and the other 200 shares of the corporation's voting stock are held by one person who votes against you, two persons who vote against you, or 200 holders of one share apiece who vote against you, you're outvoted 2-to-1 in all cases.
Finally, the relationships, if any, between shareholders has no effect on the per-share voting power.
Stock is voted by the person whose name appears on the corporation's books as the record owner. If one or more shares are co-owned, e.g as joint tenants, either joint tenant may vote the shares, but it's still one share, one vote and not one owner, one vote.
You may be confusing voting of shares with a principle for determining how many shareholders a corporation has, or to how many persons stock has been sold. Many tax and securities laws allow an issuer of stock to treat a married couple as one stockholder, or one purchaser of stock, for determining whether a maximum number of holders or purchasers has been exceeded. For example, if this couple were really married, the corporation would be treated as having 2 shareholders for purposes of determining whether it fit within the "S corporation" limitations. This has nothing to do with voting the stock.
There are legal principles that protect the rights and interests of minority shareholders; for example, if you have cumulative voting for directors, you could elect yourself to the board. However, sounds like you'd consistently be outvoted.
I sometimes tell clients that owning 49% of a two-owner small business is about the same as owning 1%. You'll be outvoted on everything, including dividend policy. Actually, it can be worse, because you could be taxed on 49% of the earnings yet receive no salary or dividend; also, holders of 20% or more may have to sign personal guarantees under various lease or loan programs.