California  |  Business Law

question bubble
11/20/07, 12:49 pm

Legal Question


Advertising

I have a small business and advertise in the local yellow pages.

I recently changed the ad including the name of the business. This was all done by e-mail and I received confirmation from the sales person that the ad would be entered exactly as I requested.

When the new ad came out, they had the name of the business wrong and they included my home address in the ad. My previous ad with them just listed the city I'm located in since I am a mobile business and have no retail establishment. I never authorized an address be used in the ad, especially my home address.

Do I have any recourse with them since I am now worried about my safety and the security of my home, not to mention the loss of business when someone shows up at my home, instead of calling, and no one is there.

Do I have to pay for the ad? What about being compensated for the additional security equipment that I will have to purchase? How about loss of business and the complaints that it will generate? What if I'm broken into because of the ad?

Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search