California | Business Law
Legal Question
i NEED TO GO TO ARBRITRATION. WHAT DO I DO? HOW DO I MAKE THE APPOINTMENT.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
First, is there an existing agreement containing a clause under which you have agreed to arbitrate any disputes that arise under the agreement? Or, will you and the other party to the dispute need to create an arbitration agreement? Binding arbitration is a right that arises under the terms of a contract between the parties. The contract can be one entered into before the dispute arose, or one entered into voluntarily but after the dispute arose.
Next, read the terms of the arbitration agreement or clause, whichever it is, and whenever it was agreed upon. Most arbitration clauses or agreements will specify something about the rules to be used, and sometimes where the arbitration is to take place. This in turn will tend to dictate where you will find your arbitrator and other conditions affecting the arbitration.
A typical arbitration clause will read something like, "If any dispute arises over the subject matter of this contract. whether sounding in contract or in tort, the parties agree that said dispute shall be arbotrated under the Civil Arbitration provisions of California's Code of Civil Procedure, sections 1280 et seq., and that the arbitration shall take place to the extent possible in Alameda County, California. A single arbitrator shall hear the dispute, and shall render a binding award applying the statutory and decisional laws of California and the commercial arbitration rules of the American Arbitration Association. The award of the arbitrator shall be final and binding and may be entered as a judgment in a court of competent jurisdiction. The arbitrator may award costs and fees to a prevailing party."
Some arbitration agreements specify that the arbitrator shall be selected from a particular panel, such as those who work under the Judicial Arbitration and Mediation Service ("JAMS"). If that's the case, you'll need to contact the local office of that agency, which will arrange for selection of an arbitrator and work with the parties on setting up a time and place and establishing the ground rules.
You can also get assistance in finding qualified arbitrators through the Alternative Dispute Resolution service of the local Superior Court. Since arbitration helps cut down the judges' workload, the courts are very happy to assist parties find qualified arbitrators.
If all else fails, look in the phone book or an on-line "Yellow Pages" under "Arbitrators" or "Mediators and Arbitrators."
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


