California | Business Law
Legal Question
Art Gallery in California not paying for sold artwork
I had 12 galleries representing my work, four of these galleries hand closed their doors in the last four months do to the rescission, and a few are not paying for work sold during the Christmas season. The gallery in Tahoe City has been for the last year has been holding back on paying me. Two months ago the gallery owner waited three months before paying, and now it has been two months without payment for the December sells. This amount could come to over $2000, but because he will not communicate with me I am not sure just want work was sold, but the amount owed could run as much as $3500. I did talk to an employee who told me that two pieces were sold in December, with the possibility of three pieces being sold, but could not give details. In Oregon the gallery must pay within 30 day of sale, but I can not find any law in California that relates to when payment must have to paid.
My question is; How long can a gallery in California go before it must pay for sold artwork?


