California  |  Business Law

question bubble
4/26/07, 7:05 pm

Legal Question


borkerage account for gold

My in-laws talked toa company to possibly buy gold. They were talked into rare coins. It turned out to be 25% of their net worth and mostly in an IRA. They were asked to pre date a check for 5 days away from now. I happened to hear of this the next day and did not like the company or practices. They in turn stopped payment on the check. The company is claiming they have a recording of them saying t hey would buy and they bought gold based on this. Is it common practice to ask for a predated check and buy on the come like this without qulifying the customer or if it is an IRA? Do they have any leagal stance to go after the in-laws when they were lied to about comissions and profit of the product? They are in CO and the company is in CA.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search