Re: Boss Threatening to Sue if I Compete
An employer in California can sue a former employee who misuses that employer’s proprietary information in a subsequent job.
Proprietary means just that: information (e.g., a confidential customer list) that gives an employer a competitive advantage and that is distinctly “owned” by the employer as opposed to being publicly shared. If you knew it before you joined, unless you owe a confidentiality obligation to the entity from which you learned it, you can use it when you leave. If everybody at the job knows it because no one keeps it secret, it is generally regarded as public. If your new employer knows this information without having received it from you (in your case, you note that knowledge of the target customer base is actually a specialty area of the new employer), there is no misuse of proprietary information. In all such cases, the information is not proprietary and can normally be freely used without obligation to the former employer.
Except as needed to protect proprietary information, California law generally prohibits non-compete obligations against former employees and treats them as invalid restraints on trade. Even if you signed a non-compete agreement, you would normally not be bound by it – except as it is tailored to prevent misuse of proprietary information.
An example of what is off limits: if an employee learns confidential pricing information of an employer, leaves that employment, and then does a price-shaving campaign targeted to the former employer’s customer base. This very likely would be a misappropriation of trade secrets and would be actionable as unfair competition.
Since interns normally don’t have access to such proprietary information, this would seem to be a case in which you could freely go to work elsewhere without obligation to your former employer.
The hotheaded response you got from your boss is a bad sign, as it does not take much in this area to cook up an abusive lawsuit for one who is spiteful and motivated. Since chasing after a former intern on thin or frivolous grounds is pretty bizarre, however, you are likely safe.
I would also recommend consulting with a knowledgeable lawyer to review all the facts of your situation and to determine whether there are any risks of violating any obligation legitimately owed to your employer. I would do so in particular so that the lawyer can evaluate the practical risks and the cost-benefit aspects of your potentially being sued by an angry boss even if you are in the right. In the meantime, the above should give you a general picture of how this area works without attempting to assess your situation in any detailed way.