California | Business Law
Legal Question
Me, my brother and my uncle are planning on starting a food delivery business, what type of license would be the best if we plan on initially keeping the money within the company, then after all equipment is paid for we would have profits? We would have employees driving not independent contractors.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
You will need at least a general business license from your city (or county if the business is in an ununcorporated area). You may also need a permit from the California Public Utilities Commission; you should have a conversation with its staff to describe the proposed business and get an official answer as to CPUC permit requirements, if any.
I also advise forming a business entity such as a corporation or LLC to conduct this business. This will prevent (or lessen) certain personal liability issues that will arise if you fail to do so. Lacking a business entity, your business would automatically be considered a general partnership.
Finally, I advise making sure you have established working relationships with an insurance agent with some business insurance know-how, and a bookkeeper or accountant who can handle your books and records so you can file tax returns, prepare paychecks, do withholding, etc. on time and accurately.
There is quite a bit to setting up and running a business with employees. It goes well beyond just having a good idea, a customer and a truck. One or two of you maybe ought to buy one of those paperback books about how to start and run a small business and read it from cover to cover, so you'll know about things like worker's comp, filing Form 2553 to become an S corporation, when and how payroll taxes are deposited, and on and on. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


