California | Business Law
Legal Question
We have a business fictious name which is the same as another business the only difference is ours end with Alumni Group/Association. Can the other business make us change our name?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
First, business name rights are not established, nor infringed, by the filing and publication of a fictitious business name registration. Nor does one obtain rights to a name by incorporating under than name or forming an LLC, and so on. Rights to use of a particular name for a business, and the concomitant right to prevent others from using it, come primarily from registering the name as a trademark. In addition, the user of a name may acquire some rights outside of the federal trademark process; for example, there is a common law duty to refrain from cheating, misleading and defrauding customers as to whom they are dealing with, and some state-law unfair competition laws.
Next, infringement cases often bring up the issue of likelihood of marketplace confusion. As an example, there are probably more than a dozen "Joe's Bar and Grill" in California, and the one in Redding is unlikely to be confused with the one in Bakersfield, so neither infringes on any rights of the other. However, an outfit calling itself "Pomona College Alumni Group" is very likely to be looked upon as having at least some official connection with Pomona College, and a suit based on either trademark (assuming they have one) or common-law or state statute unfair business practices, trademark, fraud, etc. principles is likely to succeed.
So, there are two questions to ask yourself. No. 1 is whether there is a strong possibility of confusion in the marketplace as to a possible connection (that doesn't actually exist) between the entities. No. 2 is whether the challenging entity has a strong claim to the name, either due to an actual trademark or service-mark registration, or, alternatively, to being well known.
Another factor worth mentioning is that being in similar businesses or selling similar products or services increases the opportunity for marketplace confusion. For example, suppose there are two companies called "Purple Passion, Inc." If one makes lipstick and the other makes eye liner, there is a high likelihood of confusion. If the second company makes, however, paint, there is less possibility of a consumer misidentification, even though both are products for making things look purple. Finally, if instead of paint, the second company makes Zinfandel, there is an even lesser chance of confusion.
|
|
Read More Answered By: OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES |
If the other name is a registered or recognized trademark, then you may have exposure under federal laws. Contact me directly. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


