California  |  Business Law

question bubble
6/16/08, 10:11 pm

Legal Question


CA Overtime Pay: Followup Questions

Thank you Michael and Brian for your responses to my question yesterday -- they definitely clarified the law for me. I have a few cases I'd like to work out with the two of you -- or anyone else that can help.

(1) An employee works Mon-Sat, 8 hours each day, for a total of 48 hours. According to the DLSE website I sited yesterday, ''the first eight hours worked on the seventh consecutive day of work in a workweek'' get OT pay. Again, would this employee just get 40 hours reg, 8 hours OT?

(2) Consider an employee who works M-Sat for 4 hours each day. Is it correct that the employee would get 20 hours reg pay and 4 hours OT?

(3) Now, consider an employee who works M=8, T=9, W=8, TH=off, F=8, Sat=4. Would this employee be subject to Saturday OT pay? His or her work days were not ''consecutive''; so would he/she not be eligible for Sat OT pay?

Does this employee get just 37 reg pay? Or 33 reg and 4 OT?

Lastly, is there a resource anyone can refer me to as a good employment law reference? A good book, for example? Thanks in advance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search