California  |  Business Law

question bubble
1/29/07, 9:11 pm

Legal Question


C-corp and LP setup

Not sure if I'm posting in the correct category, but seeking assistance in setting up my LP & C-corp properly. These companies will be in placed to hold real estate investments. Was told it's best to have 2 entities for the most protection. Hold assets in the LP and the C-corp will manage/operate business.

I understand the basics, however, want to confirm I have the partners setup correctly under these two entities. Then putting all shares into my FLP for further protection.

My LP - Partners:

1. GP 99% = my C-corp company

2. LP 1% = my name here??? not sure

My C-corp

1. Shareholder - my name here?

Since my C-corp will act as the managing company for my LP, is it legal that my name be both a shareholder in my C-corp and a 1% limited partner within my LP?? Seems tricky.

Not clear if I'm putting the correct names under each entity.

Thank you in advance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search