California  |  Business Law

question bubble
11/07/07, 1:44 am

Legal Question


Changed price after work was done.no contract.

Had carpet installed,after we got a verbal price for materialfrom the contractor,We paid cash to the installers,no receipt.Then the contractor sent a bill for more than the verbally agreed price.No written bid or signed work order..I refused to pay.The contractor has sent me to collections.


question bubble
11/08/07, 10:33 am

Legal Answer


Re: Changed price after work was done.no contract.

The contractor has a problem if it did not put the contract for materials in writing. (From what you have written, it sounds like labor is not an issue and your dispute is solely about the price of the materials.) If he has sent you to collections, ask the collection agency for their documentation supporting the debt. A reputable collection agency will provide you with a copy.

Christopher Arras

Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/07/07, 12:48 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Changed price after work was done.no contract.

If this verbal agreement is two years old or less, then you should strongly consider filing a lawsuit against the contractor.

An attorney will be able to get more relevant facts from you and help you decide what the lawsuit should look like.

Good luck.

Michael Meyer

Law Ofc. Of Michael J. Meyer 1801 Clement Avenue, Suite 101 Alameda, CA 94501

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search