California | Business Law
Legal Question
Compensation dilemma
A number of years back, over maybe a 1 1/2 yr. period, I sent a bunch of valuable information (clippings, trade news, catalogs of things he was interested in, etc.) to a midwestern businessman who apparently benefited form it, but was never compensated, other than receiving a couple of books worth maybe $25 (which I had to request). I had also told him I was down on my luck. I eventually tired of not being rewarded for my efforts and stopped the mailings. Months later, even though he knew I was in straits, he wrote hinting he wanted more free info--which I ignored. Being somewhat obvious that he benefited from my,unfortunately undocumented, efforts, I was thinking of asking him for $8000-$12000 and if he refuses, writing his associates telling them he's a ''skunk.'' Would there be any legal problems in doing this? I--name removed--also concerned about the way I might be paid, as I became sick, had to go on disability and if I--name removed--issued a 1099, that they'll kick me off ''the dole'' before my health returns...Is it possible to ask for this money in the form of a gift or something else? Thank you for your help.


