California  |  Business Law

question bubble
10/09/03, 3:39 pm

Legal Question


Is it Contract labor, or Employee

The EDD thinks that our employees are not contract labor because we give them use of our trucks. The work employees do for us is Servicing Customers on a route. These employees were payed per route, and never were givin a specific time to start and end the job. these employees also used the trucks for personal use. These Employees were told before they were hired that they were contract laborers, and were payed per route, not by the hour. If they did not complete a route, they did not get payed for it before they completed it. In addition, the exowner of this company has gone threw many health problems and was unable to see the EDD letters until after they put penaltys to the bill. We are unable to pay the $10,000 (3,200 original).

Do we go to court?

is there a way for them to reduce the bill to the orignal?

ARE OUR EMPLOYEES CONTRACT LABORERS?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search