California | Business Law
Legal Question
contract termination
I entered a contract in 1998 to provide on-going engineering consulting for a manufacturing company. According to this contract, the company is to pay me 5% of the gross sales of a particular product.
The contract was written by myself in simple English and is less than 1 page long. It does not contain any references to how the contract is to be terminated and it specifies no ending date.
Can the company choose to terminate the contract now and only pay me for past sales? Or, do both parties have to agree on settlement terms that may include compensation for loss of income from future sales?


