California | Business Law
9/08/09, 7:38 am
Legal Question
The defendant served me a demurrer, with a hearing date. How many days do I have to file an opposition? Thanks.
The defendant served me a demurrer, with a hearing date. How many days do I have to file an opposition? Thanks.
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
You must file the opposition at least 9 court days before the hearing. When counting, remember that the courts are closed the third Wednesday of each month because of the state's budget crisis. |
|
Read More Answered By: John Gibson |
I agree with Mr. Cohen. Additionally, the Defendant can file a reply to your opposition 5 court days before the hearing. At the hearing, there will likely be oral arguments. Make sure to read up on all the rules for oppositions to motions as there are a lot of things that a novice to the process can get confused on (and things that can be a detriment to your case). I would suggest hiring an attorney to represent you/the company.
Also, if this is for a business keep in mind that a formal business entity (corporation, LLC, etc.) must be represented by an attorney in court.
If you're an attorney asking this question make sure you check the terms & conditions of this website and make sure you can provide proper representation to your client. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
► I am cancelling and dissolving a California LLC because it's going out of business....
► While on vacation in Japan,I entered into a verbal agreement to supply labor and...
► I recently formed an LLC and need to attract talent. Since I am a 1-person LLC...
► Is it legal to pass out merchandise that I am selling in front of a store like...
► I sold a watch to a friend, for less than the apparised value, Can I sue her?
► We started an LLC this year - 3/23/09. We received a notice to pay $800 fee to state...
► I'VE BEEN SERVED A SUMMONS FOLLEWED BY A NOTICE OF APPLICATION AND HEARING FOR RIGHT...
More Business Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press