California | Business Law
Legal Question
Dissolution of a CA Corporation
How do I dissolve an old Corporation that should have been dissolved in 1996. The last tax filing was in 1996.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: Dissolution of a CA Corporation After eleven years of not paying taxes or filing officer statements, the Secretary of State will have long ago suspended the corporation, and this effectively ends its existence for most practical purposes. While a lawyer would be too cautious ever to formally advise a client not to go to the time and expense of officially dissolving an old, suspended corporation, I would say that fully 90% of corporations that are shut down or abandoned by their founders are never formally dissolved.
Actually, the process has recently been made much simpler. In general, Corporations Code sections 1900 through 1907 cover voluntary dissolution of ordinary (for profit) corporations, and are worth skimming, but you'll want to focus on 1905 re the certificate of dissolution. Then go to the Secretary of State's Web site at www.ss.ca.gov and enter the business portal and find corporate forms. In the forms list, you'll find forms named ELEC STK, DISS STK, and DSF STK. Look at all three forms, read the instructions, and decide which of them you'll need to fill out and file. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


