if i establish an LLC here in the state of california in november of 2013, when would i have to pay the $800 quarterly taxes.. is it possible for me to start up an llc by years end.
2 Answers from Attorneys
Yes, you would have to pay the $800 minumum tax. If you have time, why not start it January 1. Then you avoid the $800 and a tax retrun for 2013.
You can avoid the 2013 tax by starting on Monday, December 16th - California will disregard the 1/2 month........of course you MIGHT have taxable income to report to the Feds, but having income is always better than not having it! See my post to your follow-up question. Also, remember that California might assert the franchise tax against the LLC if the business actually got off to a head start before the LLC was formed, so remember that business startup date may be more significant than LLC formation date.
Related Questions & Answers
If a person who is a shareholder, director and officer of a close corporation is no... Asked 9/20/13, 1:35 pm in United States California Business Law
Verizon charged me Restocking fee for a socalled landline, which turned out to be... Asked 9/20/13, 5:42 am in United States California Business Law
I rented tables from a party rental company. When i set them up in my house i... Asked 9/18/13, 9:06 pm in United States California Business Law
May a doctor in California charge an annual administrative fee or other fees in... Asked 9/18/13, 4:12 pm in United States California Business Law
More than a year ago I delivered to an art gallery in Carmel, CA a sculpture to sell... Asked 9/17/13, 11:08 am in United States California Business Law