California | Business Law
Legal Question
Ethics of reselling supplies
We are a California company with offices in Mass. In the course of engagement in MA with a particular client, we needed to purchase supplies for this client. A nominal amount of time and effort went into locating vendors and negotiating pricing. To this end, the question is, what are the legal stipulations of a services company reselling supplies to the client and marking them up ? In meetings with the client, it was discussed and budgeted for these supplies. It was mentioned that a mark up would be absorbed by the client if my company had to provide the supplies for the project. Since we are classified as a servies company, what if we resell supplies in the line of providing our services and mark up the price ?


