California | Business Law
Legal Question
My father and a partner inheirited the shares to a small firm when the owner passed away, with my father holding a minority share of the stock (<50%). The majority partner has withheld $20,000 after the corporate assets were liquidated and cash distributed on the basis that the lawyer and accountant recommended the funds be retained in case of actions against the corporation. But per filing with the CA Sec of State, the corporate is now dissolved. Is the retention of the funds legal, given the corporation no longer exists, there is no partnership and the funds are being maintained in a bank account in the name of the dissolved corporation?
Legal Answers
Top Areas of Law


