California  |  Business Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/23/13, 9:35 pm

When filling out a job application .Is it legal for companies to ask sometimes over 100 personal questions? Some companies say a computer will determine employment based on these questions .not on your experience .

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/24/13, 9:04 am by Carl Starrett

Potential employers have a great deal of latitude when it comes questions to determine if someone is a good fit for the company. The number of questions is irrelevant so long as the questions are legal to ask.

It is legal, for example, to ask someone if they are a U.S. citizen or if they have the legal right to live or work in the U.S. It is NOT legal to ask question like what country they are from or if they were born in the U.S. or naturalized citizen.

If you have concerns about specific questions, I recommend posting a new question about those areas of concern.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II 1941-C Friendship Drive El Cajon, CA 92020-1144

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/24/13, 1:32 pm by Terry A. Nelson

Legal? Of course. Smart companies do psychological profiling tests along with background checks, and some do polygraph exams as well, but those require your consent. If you want the job, you consent.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/25/13, 10:18 am by Anthony Roach

It really depends on what the specific questions are. There are certain questions they are not allowed to ask, under state law.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search