California  |  Business Law

question bubble
8/05/02, 1:21 pm

Legal Question


Franchise obligations

I am involved in a business where I pay ''royalties'' for operating using a ''system of teaching''

I believe it meets the three guidelines which make it a franchise.

I however have never had any of the benefits of purchasing a franchise. I only pay royalties.

The ''franchisor'' shy's away from the word franchise.

The franchisor has since passed away. I believe the contract was written as a personal agreement. His son has now taken over and is bullying the franchisee's to siphon monies in other ways than the ''royalties''

I own my business but the son acts as if he owns it. He demands that I do business in ways I believe are unethical.

If this is a franchise, what responsibilities does the franchisor have to the franchisee?

What recourse do I have?

Can I just walk away, although I may be in physical danger for doing so. He is very threatening and I believe him to be capable of terrible things.

How can I protect myself.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search