California  |  Business Law

question bubble
10/01/03, 8:36 pm

Legal Question


Franchise Tax & Free Year

Hello,

I'm considering incorporating within the next 2 weeks. As a new home based business startup (who doesn't expect to make a profit for 2 years) I'd like to take advantage of the franchise tax boards waiving of the 1st year's minimum fee. I called them today and asked about starting a business this month and receiving a full 12 months without being taxed. The rep mentioned that a fiscal year would allow me to have a full tax free year versus the irs' standard calender year. Discouragingly enough he said that only LARGE corporations used fiscal years. Is this true? Can't a one person first year start-up company (products via drop shipping) get a franchise tax break?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search