California | Business Law
Legal Question
Graphic Designer Rips me off
Graphic designer is invited to our office after she submitted a bid for $2000 to design our brochure. We wanted to see her previous work and interview her. She does not bring her previous work. Instead, she brings in two comps she has done for us. No contracts were signed. No signoffs were done. We were surprised by her ''jumping the gun'' but since she made these comps for us to see, we asked how much would something like this cost to print? She obtained printing costs. Then sent us another bid adding additional costs on top of the $2000 to it. We told her to stop any and all efforts towards the design. She then proceeded to send us an invoice for $3000+. She threatened to take us to small claims court. My question is FOR WHAT? On what grounds?


