California  |  Business Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 12:16 pm

Legal Question


Hi,

I work remotely from home for a company in CA, US. (I am not a citizen of the US and I dont live in the US). The company offer me an amount of share. My question is: Is it legal for me to own the share? Do I have to notice/do anything to legally own the share? Is there any legal restriction for me to sell the share to other people?

Thank you very much!


question bubble
11/21/09, 12:59 pm

Legal Answer


Foreigners can, and do, own lots of stock in U.S. companies, including those incorporated in California. There is one important restriction that I know of: a corporation that has elected to be taxed like a partnership, i.e., a so-called "S" corporation, cannot have a non-resident alien as a shareholder.

Bryan Whipple

Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law P O Box 318 Tomales, CA 94971-0318

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search