California | Business Law
6/14/00, 2:28 pm
Legal Question
intellectual property
I have a new use for an existing product and logo.
How do I protect my concept when I present it to the
compan
intellectual property
I have a new use for an existing product and logo.
How do I protect my concept when I present it to the
compan
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: intellectual property It is impossible to answer this question without more particulars. For example, if the new use for an existing product is in the nature of, say, using a hammer to crack walnuts when no one had ever done this before, the use is probably freely exploitable by any hammer owner. However, if the idea is that a highway map of the U.S. can also be used as a railroad map of the U.S. by printing an overlay of railroad lines on it, the map publisher can probably assert a right to control such derivative use.
With respect to "new use" for a logo, the answer is not necessarily any simpler, but the line separating fair use from infringement is way over to one side, making most use of a logo by other than the party to whom registered unfair.
You should consult an attorney, but one self-help step is to contact the company in question, without disclosing particulars of your idea, to determine their policies for submission of new ideas by inventors. Most companies have established guidelines and will treat you fairly. |
|
Read More Answered By: Barry Jorgensen |
Re: intellectual property You will need to hve all parties that are exposed to your new concept sign both a non-disclosure and a non-circumvention agreement. Most business attroneys can draft such agreements specific to your idea. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
► Selling Domain Names Would give me advice on starting a home business selling domain...
► Sales tax over the internet Do you need to collect sales tax for tangible goods sold...
► Artist's Legal Responsibility to Photographer My husband is an artist who works in...
► Payroll deductions.unauthorized what course of action should be taken or can be at a...
► Breach of Contract, Negligence and Fraud I am a contractor who entered into a...
► "Requirements for Obtaining a Business Trademark" I have a retail flower...
► Rights of companies I am starting a small "video game strategy guide"...
More Business Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press