California  |  Business Law

question bubble
8/19/09, 4:44 pm

Legal Question


I am interested in finding out what forms to file, and to what federal agency/ies, in order to establish a legal alias; or what some know as a stage name. A passport book and card in this alias name is desirable; other federal form of identification in this alias name should suffice. It should provide access to all forms of travel without revealing my true name, but still remain above board for all matters to do with citizenship rights, federal, state and local police requirements.

I can fill out the forms myself. The valuable part of any advice I receive is knowing which forms will allow me to only need to register this alias, and otherwise comply with laws, at a federal level, avoiding as much as possible the state and local levels (motor vehicle agency ID cards, for instance).

This solution should be legally above board wherever I use it, in the event an issue arises where it must be revealed that I am using a legal alias.

I do not know if it is correctly classified as a question of business law, but expecting the answer to somehow relate to d.b.a. it seemed the best fit. Please note I don't wish to use this d.b.a. term on the ID, as it would seem to defeat my purpose.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search