California | Business Law
Legal Question
I invested $2,500 into a company not long ago and the agreement stated that I will receive monthly dividends. Sometime later when I asked the owner to return my investment he refused to do so because I lost the original signed agreement. He said I could not get my principle investment back without it. He stated that a store would require a receipt to get a refund and so do they. I subsequently filed a complaint with the BBB and his response to my complaint was to PROVE IT. I have proof of the transaction from e-mail exchanges between us, as well as messages left on my voice mail. I have received one dividend check since June. He left a voice mail a few weeks ago stating that they are holding off sending further checks because I filed a complaint with the BBB, that before they send out any further checks to me they wanted in writing that I wasn't going to harm the business by proceeding with a lawsuit. I have tried to file a small claims suit, but could not have them served because they are not at the address that I have for them. Is this case win-able in court and how should I proceed? Are there any attorneys that do pro bono work?


