California | Business Law
Legal Question
I was laid off almost 3 months ago, and got my last paycheck but never received my vacation days I never used. I usually get paid out on my anniversary date, which was a week before we got laid off. I went to the California Labor Board and filed a complaint. 3 weeks later (24 calendar days to be exact) I got my vacation pay. I have a labor board hearing coming up. Will they just discuss the vacation pay they owed (which was already paid), but because of them not paying me right away I had some financial hardship. I wanted to know if the penalties owed will be discussed at this hearing and if I win the case how long before they have to pay or will it have to go to a hire court? Also, do I have entitlement to it since it was only vacation pay that they didn't pay? I really want to pursue it because it's close over $5K.


