California | Business Law
Legal Question
LLC or Sole Prop?
I just started my own home business recently. A friend an accountant said I should not be a LLC that I should be a Sole Prop? Come tax time which would be better for a husband and wife home business. We are a service no inventory.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Ronald Mahurin |
Re: LLC or Sole Prop? The answer to your question depends upon the income you generate. If the business generates a small income, then your accountant friend is right, a sole prop is probably best. There is less paperwork, less state involvement, and a lower standard of review for an audit. However, if your services generates a modest income the LLC will provde a limit to your liability. Even with insurance all your assets are subject to loss with a sole prop, whereas an LLC limits your liability. This is the primary advantage of a LLC. The disadvantage is the state is more striengent with a LLC, for example with home business tax deductions, etc.
So the answer is in your bottom line. It all depends upon how much money your business earns and the tax stance you intend to present to the state and federal governments. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


