California | Business Law
Legal Question
How long does a company that resides in California have to return my money if I have already returned that item to them, and they have verified receipt of the item?
How long does a company that resides in California have to return my money if I have already returned that item to them, and they have verified receipt of the item?
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
The answer is a "reasonable" time. If it's been more than 30 days, you might wish to escalate your efforts to obtain the refund. You also might dispute the charge with your credit card company. |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Mr. Cohen is right, and what is reasonable and what to do if the vendor exceeds a reasonable time may depend heavily on the size of the transaction, whether cash (or equivalent), check or credit card was used to pay, custom and practice in your business (if this is a merchant-to-merchant transaction), and maybe some other factors. If your right to return the item for full refund is undisputed, I'd say more than a 60-day delay is prima facie unreasonable. However, your question is short on facts concerning your right to return the item. In many sales transactions, the buyer's return of the merchandise and the seller's acknowledgment that it has received the returned goods does not equate to a right to a refund. Sure, often it does, but it is not automatic. Some sales are final, some can be "busted" by prompt notice, and others carry an absolute guarantee of satisfaction. Without knowing the express and implied terms of your contract, including whether you are a merchant (as meant in the Uniform Commercial Code) or a consumer, I cannot assure you that you are entitled to a refund, much less when it should arrive. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
► The defendant in a law suit has filed a subpoena against me for some business...
► I had an employee who asked for an advance, which I gave, then shortly after, she...
► I have an issue that you may be able to help me with. Reading an the article online,...
► Hello I am a shop owner who has incurred a problem dealing with an insurance...
► Do I need a business license if I do some work for a landlord?
► Had a customer drop off some parts to do work on had done some repairs they sat...
► I have a judgment against a person in superior court. What is the form I need to...
More Business Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press