California  |  Business Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 7:32 pm

Legal Question


If I went to a mechanic for work on my car over a year ago, and they still haven't invoiced me, do I still need to pay them if they invoice me EVENTUALLY?


question bubble
11/18/09, 7:55 pm

Legal Answer


If there was a written agreement to service the car, they have four years. If it was verbal, they have two.

Timothy McCormick

Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 1990 N. California Blvd., 8th Fl Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/18/09, 8:22 pm

Legal Answer


Yes. You asked them to perform the repairs and you got the benefit of their work, so you have to pay for their services. At some point, though, the limitations period on the mechanics' claim against you will expire. If you still haven't paid by that point and they haven't sued you for the money, you will no longer have to pay.

Edward Hoffman

Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 12301 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 500 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/19/09, 2:14 am

Legal Answer


Yes as long as don't wait too long so they can sue you if you don't pay. See Tim's answer above as to deadlines. Also it is four years if it is an account stated or open book account.

Melvin C. Belli

The Belli Law Firm 35 Miller Ave Suite 199 Mill Valley, CA 94941

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search