California | Business Law
Legal Question
I am in middle of law suit
I am suing for monies never repaid...have copies of cashier checks. We have settled...how do i give release . Is there a form I can buy
I am in middle of law suit
I am suing for monies never repaid...have copies of cashier checks. We have settled...how do i give release . Is there a form I can buy
|
Read More Answered By: Jim Schaefer |
Re: I am in middle of law suit I highly suggest that you have an attorney draft the settlement agreement for you. Settlement agreements are extremely important documents which may or may not cause you problems in the future. If you get a "canned" settlement agreement the agreement will not be specific to your situation and will not include many legal clauses that should be in there and may contain other clauses that should not be in there. As a laymen you may read over the canned settlement agreement (if you find one) and say to yourself that this clause looks good etc etc when you do not know all of the legal nuances and consequences of the clause you leave in the agreement and as stated you will almost certainly not have some important clauses in the agreement. A lawyer should not charge much to prepare this agreement for you and you would be well advised to have an attorney prepare it.
If you would like representation so that a qualified attorney can prepare your settlement agreement then please do not hesitate to contact me. Thank you for your question. |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: I am in middle of law suit If you were the plaintiff, you need to file, and have served, a Notice of Settlement (CM-200), a Request for Dismissal (CIV-110), and finally a Notice of Entry of Dismissal (CIV-120) with the court. These are Judicial Council forms, available from the court clerk in most counties. Read all the instructions on the forms. They are not settlement agreements. Get a signed settlement agreement with the defendants BEFORE filing any of these forms.
Actually, most settlement agreements are lawyer-drafted and are a blend of boilerplate provisions from the lawyer's word processor files and newly-written, case-specific language describing the case that's being settled, what the defendant agrees to give in settlement, what the plaintiff will then do to wind up the case, and reciprocal release clauses.
I would be leery of any pre-printed or off-the-shelf forms. There would be too much inapplicable language, but more important, stuff that should be in there would be omitted.
You might ask the defendant's lawyer to provide a draft settlement agreement for your review. That would spare you the major drafting effort, leaving you only to read the other side's proposed language very carefully to find everything that needs editing. I believe every settlement agreement should contain an attorney fee clause allowing a non-breaching party to recover fees if necessary to sue the other for breach of the settlement. The settlement agreement should be made expressly subject to enforcement under Code of Civil Procedure section 664.6. |
|
Read More Answered By: Peter Berlin |
Re: I am in middle of law suit You will be well advised to have an attorney prepare and draft any release based on the circumstances of the case and settlement. You will surely overlook some key issues if you use a form or prepare one yourself. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13879
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12203
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6470
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
► Big Typo in non-compete clause I signed a non-compete clause with my employer where...
► Pizza Delivery My son got into an auto accident while delivering pizzas. The pizza...
► Retainers for Services What is the proper verbage for a retainer in a contract for...
► Storage Fees I have been storing a vehicle on my property for some time now without...
► Family lawsuit son vs. parent what constitutes ownership of a company that has never...
► Son Suing Parents over Retail Biz Profits k1 paid son, suing for one third profit...
► Son suing parents over profits of retail store son paid by k1. verbal agreement to...
More Business Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press