California | Business Law
Legal Question
Non Circuvention Agreements
I was told that ''Non Circumvention Agreements'' don't hold up in California is this true?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: Non Circuvention Agreements I would say it is largely untrue.
I just skimmed a bunch of cases dealing with non-circumvention agreements. None of them questioned the validity of the contracts as such, although in some cases the party attempting to enforce the agreement lost for other reasons.
Obviously, "Non Circumvention Agreement" plastered across the top of a contract won't determine whether it is enforceable or not. The real determining factor is what the parties are agreeing to do, or not do.
However an agreement is labeled, it will not be enforced if the subject matter or objectives are contrary to public policy. Frequently-seen examples of unenforceable contracts because of public policy, or statutes proclaiming public policy, are non-compete agreements in which someone is restrained from engaging in a lawful business, trade or occupation, or price-fixing (anticompetitive) agreements.
A court would examine the real substance of the non-circumvention agreement and enforce it or not on the basis of whether the person seeking to enforce it was trying to produce an unfair result or a result in conflict with public policy.
A frequent use of non-circumvent agreements is where someone with knowledge of where to obtain scarce raw materials or products will offer to import and sell them to you, but only if you agree to buy only through the finder/supplier and not go direct to the source. I think such agreements can be enforced in California if carefully written, based on the fact that California allows "requirements" contracts in which X agrees to buy all the widgets he needs from Y. This would keep X from dealing directly with Z, Y's source. |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: Non Circuvention Agreements I would say it is largely untrue.
I just skimmed a bunch of cases dealing with non-circumvention agreements. None of them questioned the validity of the contracts as such, although in some cases the party attempting to enforce the agreement lost for other reasons.
Obviously, "Non Circumvention Agreement" plastered across the top of a contract won't determine whether it is enforceable or not. The real determining factor is what the parties are agreeing to do, or not do.
However an agreement is labeled, it will not be enforced if the subject matter or objectives are contrary to public policy. Frequently-seen examples of unenforceable contracts because of public policy, or statutes proclaiming public policy, are non-compete agreements in which someone is restrained from engaging in a lawful business, trade or occupation, or price-fixing (anticompetitive) agreements.
A court would examine the real substance of the non-circumvention agreement and enforce it or not on the basis of whether the person seeking to enforce it was trying to produce an unfair result or a result in conflict with public policy.
A frequent use of non-circumvent agreements is where someone with knowledge of where to obtain scarce raw materials or products will offer to import and sell them to you, but only if you agree to buy only through the finder/supplier and not go direct to the source. I think such agreements can be enforced in California if carefully written, based on the fact that California allows "requirements" contracts in which X agrees to buy all the widgets he needs from Y. This would keep X from dealing directly with Z, Y's source. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13881
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12210
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10409
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6470
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


