California  |  Business Law

question bubble
2/28/03, 4:16 pm

Legal Question


Oral agreements for manager's fees.

14 yrs. ago, my landlady (and Long-time friend) asked my to manage the apartment bldg I was living, and that her family owned. She said that she couldn't pay the going rate, but would pay me a token fee, and if I stayed until they eventually sold the building, then she would use the proceeds of the sale to pay me the difference between the going rate and the token payment. Several times in the last 14 yrs, the agreement was re-stated. They have sold the bldg, and now she and her family partners don't remember the agreement.

I had known this family for years before maling this agreement, and never dreamed they would renege, so I never got anything on paper. What recourse do I have?

According to the Building Owner's and Managers Assoc., I should be getting approx. $42,000. I have offered to end this dispute for $10,000. They have yet to respond.

Thank you,

--name removed


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search