California  |  Business Law

question bubble
1/26/04, 7:01 pm

Legal Question


Oral Contract and non-payment of invoices

My consulting firm worked on a project without a signed purchase order

for two months with a total of $30k in invoices. The client was fully

aware that we were proceeding with the project and met with us along

the way, including three design reviews. Now our invoices are over 120

days old, and they refuse to pay because we have no signed purchase

order.

At the end of the 1st, phase we had a design review and submitted the

an invoice, which was accepted and in process toward being paid (we

thought). We then commenced work on the next phase of the project. A

few days after we called to set up the design review at the end of this

phase, we received a call instructing us to stop work on the project

because there was no signed proposal. We went ahead and had the

design review (work was already complete) and delivered the work.

The client has agreed to pay one of the invoices ~$15k (which I did not

accept). Our hard costs on the project were ~$20k (which we've paid out

to our sub-contractors).

My questions are: Do we have a enforceable oral contract? What is the

best course of action at this point?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search