California | Business Law
Legal Question
OSC Service of Process
I have na upcoming OSC on service of process. What does this mean and what do I need to do to prepare for this hearing?
OSC Service of Process
I have na upcoming OSC on service of process. What does this mean and what do I need to do to prepare for this hearing?
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: OSC Service of Process OSC is an abbreviation for "Order to Show Cause."
Judges issue orders to lawsuit parties who fall out of compliance with the procedural rules. In your case, you probably sued one or more parties, but have not completed service of process (including filing proofs of service) on all of the parties within the prescribed time limits. Since you are overdue to complete service on all named defendants, the court is ordering you to show "good cause" why some action should not be taken by the court against you, such as dismissing the un-served defendants or ordering you to pay monetary sanctions.
You should obtain (if you don't have it)and read the OSC carefully. See what it orders you to do, by when, and what the consequences will be for failure to do so. You probably have to appear in court on a certain date. Your appearance may be excused if you correct the shortcomings that concern the judge - such as failure timely to serve all defendants - several court days before your OSC court date. Otherwise, be prepared to explain to the judge wht you haven't served all defendants and filed proofs of service attesting to that.
If one or more defendants are evading service of process, and you have made repeated good-faith efforts to serve them, reporting that may buy you more time and prevent dismissal or sanctions or both. |
|
Read More Answered By: Arkady Itkin |
Re: OSC Service of Process You have to tell the court on that hearing why you haven't filed a proof of service of the complaint (or other pleading) on the other party as you are supposed to.
You can file a Response to OSC with declaration explaining why you failed to serve the defendant with summons. This is likely the problem.
Thanks,
Arkady Itkin www.arkadylaw.com |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
► Do I have to pay off a 30% promissory note? I bought a company where the previous...
► Commercial Landlord-Tenant I am a tenant. In my opinion, the landlord has been in...
► Legal time frame to pay an employee Is a company legally bound to paying an on call...
► After School Karate Program I run an after school karate program and we have the...
► Scam? Recently my family's martial arts school was contacted by interested student...
► Service of process not completed My aunt has filed a suit against someone for...
► Sales question If goods (more than $500 worth) are delivered by vendor to seller for...
More Business Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press